Episode 11: Rethinking Destiny

So, over the last few days, Some interesting things have been happening, and its got me thinking about things like fate, destiny and karma again. I won’t go into details, but I engaged in some random acts of kindness over those few days, and last night something that could very well turn out to be one of the best things to happen to me cropped up. Now I understand there’s no reason to believe right away that any of that is fate per se, but the certain something that happened is something that I’ve been trying for years upon years to have happen. And it’s so far turning out to be exactly what I’ve been looking for, except in one respect. And that’s a lot better than I’m used to getting. Getting this lucky just doesn’t generally happen to me. But nothing’s really changed in the last little while. The only thing that’s different at all is these few acts of kindness, which I normally don’t do. I only did them because I happened to read some stories that restore faith in humanity.

But here’s the rub. None of that means it’s fate. For all the incredible things we’ve done as a species, we’ve never been able to truly correlate events to prove fate, the existence of a (or more than one) God, or even that karma is anything more than a perception. And I’m not suggesting we should have. They’re ephemeral concepts, created and viewed on a unique basis individual to each and every one of us.

Does that mean they can’t be true, then? Absolutely not. Just because we can’t, at this point in time, prove something does not make that something not true, because we haven’t been able to disprove it either. It’s a tenuous balance, and leaning too far to one side can have terribly destructive consequences, just like anything else does.

So who’s right then? The believers, or the non-believers. And if the believers are right, then which particular sect of believers has the correct answer? There’s just no way to know for sure right now. I, of all people, would love to know the truth. It could be an invaluable piece of knowledge in terms of ensuring either an eternal life or whatever else may or may not be out there. My own personal beliefs? I think that we took the wrong path when we turned good ideas about how to treat your fellow man (or woman) and turned them into beliefs. To paraphrase the movie Dogma, ideas can be changed, but people are willing to die for beliefs. Speaking of which, I’d highly recommend that movie. Filled with silliness, but there are some very good messages tucked in there too.

Anyways, I didn’t intend to actually answer any of these questions about faith or the like. It would be far too presumptuous of me to attempt to tell you what’s right or wrong for your life and your beliefs. But I will say that I think I may have rediscovered some faith of my own, and I hope I can keep a hold on it this time. It’s still strange to think that I believe in something that can’t necessarily be proven, so it’s a shaky and tenuous hold at best right now.

Also, regardless of what you believe, I would say that you remember we’re all in this together, and no one should be hated or treated poorly simply because they believe something you don’t, or made a choice you wouldn’t have. If you think they’re wrong, then by all means talk to them and show them why you think what you do, but if they’re still intent on being “wrong” (and the quotations are because I think in some matters, wrong is a relative term, but that’s a discussion for another day perhaps) then let them be wrong. It’s no skin off your back, right? Lead your life the way you think is right, and let them do the same.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

