Episode 14: Not All Have Forgotten

This one will make more sense to my Canadian readers than anyone else worldwide, but even so it’s a sobering wakeup call, and everyone would do well to be aware. After all, what’s to say America isn’t doing the same thing? Or the UK? Or even any other country for that matter.

So what’s worth looking at? A friend of mine posted a link to an article that was referencing a “leaked” Rick Mercer Report rant (leaked is in quotes because it was our pal Rick himself that shared it via a link in a tweet). This is the rant that I was put onto. It’s heady stuff.

I mean, what does it say that we’re putting no thought into what we’re doing to the very people who fought for our freedom? It disturbs me on a very deep level, specifically because these people did something I know I could never do. If anyone ever sent me to war, I’d be as far to the back as I possibly could be, curled up in the fetal position and hoping like hell it passed me by.

So to hear that we’ve decided these worthy folk just aren’t even remotely important to our government angers me. And yes, I understand some will say that I don’t have a right to say anything because I don’t vote. And that’s fair. Maybe I have no right to complain TO the government, but I can still voice my opinion to friends, family, and the world in general. Those are the rights that the very veterans we’re insulting fought for.

So please, even if you refuse to acknowledge my right to complain about the insults being heaped on our veterans, use your own right to and make sure things don’t get even worse. And if possible, maybe even make it better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

